Pinterest Purgatory

Pinterest Purgatory

 I have been obsessing over Pinterest since the day we decided to buy our house. Pinterest perfection sears a level of supremacy in home décor that I cannot surpass or replicate. The feelings of inadequacy reign in my soul and I am filled with dread for decorating my new home. Upon moving into the house, Sandblast colored walls close in on me and I immediately want to paint. I like color and I love bold statements. I know what I like but I don’t necessarily know how to pull that all together. I am ADD and eclectic to the core and Pinterest only increases my stress.  obsession.

 I fell in love with a turquoise painted door but I question myself. Is this in style? Will it match the rest of the house? Doubt after doubt punch at me but I head to Sherwin William’s despite my doubts. Admittedly, I text my mom and sisters over 100 times trying to pick out colors and consult Facebook for moral support for my paint pickings but I do it. I paint the door blue.

 Guess what? The door is awesome. (It might not match but lovely nonetheless) Bottom line – I love it and every time I look at it, I am encouraged to not allow public opinion to rule my life. The blue door is a symbol of my freedom – my freedom in Christ.

 You might be wondering how a blue door has anything to do with my relationship with the Lord but it does. That blue door means that I am free to be me – an eclectic, color blind woman that God created to serve Him and not the opinion of man. Galatians 5:1 says, “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

I have enslaved myself to Pinterest perfection. I doubted what I wanted to have in my house based on what the world was providing as perfection. I realized I do this often – I allow the world to tell me what is in style or popular.

 The world tells me I am not enough – I am not.

 The world says I am inadequate – I am.

 The world says I don’t measure up – I don’t.

 But He does so I don’t have to be enslaved with perfection. I am free to be me.

I don’t have to be perfect – He is. 

Image

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Purgatory

  1. Wonderfully said and there are many of us that are in the same shape when it comes to hearing the voices of the world. I believe that is why I absolutely love the songs “Free to Be Me” and “The Voice of Truth”. Both are great when I find myself listening to others and trying to please 🙂

  2. I hear ya loud and and clear. I decorate something and then second guess myself for months. I’m not sure whose standard I am trying to meet, but I do know this….this house is a blessing from God. I don’t believe the enemy wants me to believe that. I believe he wants me to be dissatisfied instead of seeing Gods amazing blessing. I LOVE the door. A part of me was jealous that I’m not brave enough to be well, brave and paint stuff in fun, bold colors. I love your style, girl!

Leave a Reply

