Deception

IMG_0125 Our house is currently experiencing Day 3 of Middle Tennessee’s #winterblast2015. Inside my warm house, I gaze out the window at the shining sun and twinkling ice as I’m pleading for relief from cabin fever.  From my perspective my yard appears to be a warm winter paradise. I attempt to enjoy that paradise and gently stick my toes out, but the wind bites my face with twenty-degree coolness and it steals my breath.

Deception.

There is no such thing as a warm winter wonderland. Snow and ice equal biting temps regardless how it looks from my window or even if I can see the warm sun shining. Appearances betray the reality. My perspective fools true knowledge. My desires deceive me to the truth.

Eve experiences similar deceptions in the garden when the serpent entices her with a question such as, “Did God really say,?” or his reassurance, “That really won’t happen”.

Feelings or blurry perceptions foster beliefs that exceptions to the rules are possible.  That truths are tainted with lies. Jeremiah 17:9 reminds us that,  “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” The perceptions of our hearts can only be trusted when immersed with the truth of the Scripture. Hearts stained by lies must be corrected with the truth of God’s Word.  If not, we will mimic Eve responding to God with, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” (Gen. 3:13b)

What prevents deception? Knowing truth. The Secret Service states that they way to detect counterfeit money is to know your money. They have created a whole website (http://www.newmoney.gov) on the characteristics, design, and special features of our money. The world is full of deceivers and deceptions and a wise man seeks to discern the truth. One can spot counterfeit word by exchanging it for HIS TRUTH.

Yesterday in my home, it played out like this, I had decided how to handle a situation with our kids. I told Brad how I thought we should proceed.  He disagreed. In my head I work up all the reasons I KNOW BETTER THAN HIM. The greatest deception we as women can believe is that we know better than everyone. Sometimes we do, sometimes we don’t. Eve struggled with this and so do I – deception. We must take what we think, feel, and believe and line it up with what God says to be TRUE.

P.S. While writing this, I had the Today show on mute and looked up to them discussing “good lies vs. bad lies”  We have gotten so comfortable with lies, we see some as good. Deception.
​P.S.S My quiet time verses were on the exact same thing. What happens when we exchange the Truth for a Lie. IMG_0127

Leave a Reply

